Sikeston team wins regional tourney

Wednesday, August 20, 2003
(Submitted photo)

SIKESTON - The 11-year-old Sikeston Bulldogs all-star team took first place last week in the Midwest Plains Regional Invitational baseball tournament held in Wellington, Kan.

"Sikeston is very proud of their 11-year-old baseball team," said manager Steve Carlyle. "This team always believed they could win, and played like champions."

The Bulldogs lost their first game to Minnesota 4-3, but rebounded to win the rest of their matchups.

Sikeston beat Kansas 5-1 behind the solid pitching of Josh Carlyle, who struck out seven and walked one batter. He was selected the game's MVP after reaching base in all three plate appearances.

Wes Glaus picked up the victory in the third game after coming in for relief, shutting down Colorado 6-2. He was awarded the MVP of the game, allowing three hits and no walks.

Sikeston then faced Nebraska in the semifinals of the American Division and they promptly hammered the Cornhusker team 11-2. Kai Lambert received the MVP award after allowing three hits and three walks on the mound.

The win put Sikeston in the championship game where they faced the Fargo-South, North Dakota champs from the National Division.

Carlyle picked up the win on the mound, defeating North Dakota 7-4, clinching the championship in the first ever Cal Ripken 11-year-old Midwest Plains Regional Invitational.

In the game, Jimmy Obermark pulled off a lineout 6-4-3 triple play.

Glaus took home his second MVP award.

Three players from Sikeston were chosen for the All-Tournament team: Obermark (shortstop), Glaus (first base) and Tanner Bryant (outfield).

Eight teams participated in the tournament, including Sikeston, North Dakota, Minnesota, Colorado, Nebraska, Kansas, Booneville, Mo., and host team Wellington.

"I want to thank our SAYB League President Steve Beydler who believed in us and helped us all to have these great memories," said Carlyle. "Thanks to the SAYB program, all the parents, friends, and especially these 10 Sikeston ball players and also coaches Ricky Isaacs and Dan Obermark for helping me."

Players for the team were Josh Carlyle, Jason Isaacs, Jimmy Obermark, Wes Glaus, Tanner Bryant, Jordan Williams, Ronnie Pyland, Jayme Milam, Kai Lambert and Andrew McDowell.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: