Southeast president will be announced Wednesday

Tuesday, March 3, 2015
ADAM VOGLER ~ A Southeast Missouri State University student walks past Academic Hall Monday, Oct. 14, on the Southeast campus. The hall will open to the public after two-years of renovations on Oct. 24, during the University's homecoming festivities. Missouri Governor Jay Nixon has been invited to speak during the rededication ceremony which will be held at 5:30 p.m.

CAPE GIRARDEAU -- The 18th president of Southeast Missouri State University will be announced Wednesday at a news conference, university officials said.

Jay Knudtson, president of the university's board of regents, and Doyle Privett, chairman of the presidential search and screening advisory committee, will announce the university's selection at 4 p.m. in Glenn Auditorium of Robert A. Dempster Hall.

The finalists vying for the university's top leadership position are Paul Plotkowski, Margaret Madden, Carlos Vargas-Aburto and Benjamin Ola. Akande.

Plotkowski is a founding dean and professor at Padnos College of Engineering and Computing at Grand Valley State University in Grand Rapids, Michigan. He earned a master's degree in mechanical engineering in 1981 at Oakland University, and in 1984, he earned a doctorate in systems engineering.

Madden has served as provost and vice president of academic affairs for the State University of New York at Potsdam since 2002. She earned a bachelor's degree in psychology from the University of Wisconsin in 1975, then earned a master's degree and doctorate in psychology from the University of Massachusetts in 1979 and 1982.

Vargas-Aburto is acting president of Kutztown University of Pennsylvania and earned a doctorate in physics and aerospace science at the University of Michigan.

Ola. Akande is dean of George Herbert Walker School of Business Technology at Webster University in St. Louis. He also is chief of the Webster University Office of Corporate Partnerships. Akande earned a doctorate in economics at the University of Oklahoma in 1995. He has a master of arts degree in economics and a master's degree in public administration.

The selection was expected to be made during a board of regents meeting Saturday.

The successor will replace Southeast president Kenneth Dobbins, who on Sept. 8 announced his plans to retire. His last day will be June 30.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: