2016-17 Standard Democrat Boys Basketball Player of the Year: Fred Thatch, Sikeston

Friday, April 21, 2017
Sikeston's Fred Thatch grabs a rebound in front of Cape Central's Caleb Oswald in a high school basketball game Friday, Feb. 10, 2017, at the Sikeston Field House.

Grade: Junior

Position: Forward

Height: 6-3

Best Game: Feb. 3, 2017, Sikeston won 102-66 over Poplar Bluff: It was supposed to be a battle for the SEMO Conference crown, but Thatch and Co. made it a blowout. Thatch finished two points shy of his career-high with 39 points, 16 rebounds and six assists in one epic performance in Poplar Bluff. He shot 13 for 21 from the floor and drained a career-high five threes.

About: Thatch continued his blistering pace through the Sikeston record books with another stellar season for the Bulldogs. He averaged close to a triple-double with 25.1 points, 12.1 rebounds, five assists and three steals for Sikeston, who finished with a 24-5 record and a second-straight quarterfinal appearance. Thatch, who verbally committed to St. Louis University in January, passed Michael Porter for the most rebounds in school history with 940 for his career. He also moved into second place on the all-time scorers list sitting with 1,834 -- 160 away from Porter's 1,994 -- and is second in assists and third in steals. He became the fifth Bulldog to win the John Gibbs Award for the best boys player in the SEMO Conference and was selected to the Class 4 all-state team for a second-straight year. This is also the second time in a row Thatch has been named the Standard Democrat Boys Basketball Player of the Year.

All-Standard Democrat Boys Teams

First Team
Deantrell Beard, Sr., SCC
Mardareyon Clark, Jr., Charleston
Kevin Jones, Soph., Sikeston
Max Priggel, Sr., Oran
POY -- Fred Thatch, Jr., Sikeston

Second Team
Nathan Burnett, Soph., Risco
Jason Jarrell, Sr., Dexter
Demarcus Sharp, Jr., Charleston
Ian Torrey, Jr., Portageville
Javarcus Word, Sr., NMCC

The 2016-17 All-Standard Democrat basketball teams were chosen by the Standard Democrat sports department and from the following schools: Charleston, Dexter, East Prairie, Kelly, New Madrid County Central, Oran, Portageville, Richland, Risco, Scott County Central and Sikeston.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: