MDMC one of 13 Missouri practices to earn national recognition for patient-centered care

Friday, January 19, 2018

WASHINGTON -- The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) recently announced 13 practices in Missouri earned NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Recognition for using evidence-based, patient-centered processes that focus on highly coordinated care and long-term relationships with patients and family members. One of those 13 was Missouri Delta Medical Center in Sikeston.

"NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition raises the bar in defining high-quality care by emphasizing access, health information technology and coordinated care that is focused on patients," said NCQA President, Margaret E. O'Kane. "By earning recognition, these practices show they have the tools, systems and resources to provide their patients with the right care, at the right time."

The NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home model of primary care combines teamwork and information technology to improve care, improve patients' experience of care and reduce costs. Medical homes foster ongoing partnerships between patients and their personal clinicians. Each patient's care is overseen by a clinician-led care team that coordinates treatment across the health care system. Research shows that medical homes can lead to higher quality and lower costs, and can improve patients' and providers' experience of care.

Missouri practices that have earned PCMH Recognition include:

· ACCESS Family Care

· CoxHealth Regional Services, PCCC

· Douglas County Public Health Services Group, Inc. DBA Missouri Ozarks Community Health

• Family Medical Care Center

• Fordland Clinic, Inc.

• Grace Hill Health Centers, Inc.

• Missouri Delta Medical Center

• Ozarks Community Hospital

• Quincy Medical Group

• SSM Health Medical Group - Family Medicine

• SSM Health Medical Group - St. Francis

• The Health Care Collaborative of Rural Missouri

• University of Kansas Health System

These practices demonstrated the ability to meet key NCQA requirements, embodying characteristics of the medical home. NCQA standards align with the Joint Principles of the Patient-Centered Medical Home established by the American College of Physicians, the American Academy of Family Physicians, the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Osteopathic Association.

NCQA's program is the most widely-adopted PCMH model in the country. One in six eligible physicians in the United States practices in an NCQA-Recognized PCMH. To find clinicians and their practices with NCQA PCMH Recognition, visit

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: