Jim Largent

Monday, June 3, 2019
Jim Largent

SIKESTON — James Dean Largent, 81, of Sikeston, passed away on Saturday, June 1, 2019, at Saint Francis Medical Center.

Born on Nov. 27, 1937, in Sikeston, to Agatha Mumma and Louie Rice Largent, Jim attended Sikeston High School and graduated as a member of the Class of 1955. Jim married Carol Theresa Reynaud on Sept. 4, 1966, at St. Joseph Church in Marksville, La. They were married 53 years.

Following his graduation from the University of Missouri, he worked for many years in the pharmaceutical industry, the family business. Starting out as a sales representative for McKesson in New Orleans, La., he and his new bride returned to Southeast Missouri when he took a position with Delta Wholesale Drug. They first lived in Cape Girardeau, then made Blodgett their home for more than 40 years before moving to Sikeston in 2017. Jim retired in 2006 as vice president of business development for McKesson.

Athletically inclined, Jim excelled in football and boxing in his younger years. He loved to be with family and to be outdoors. He rarely refused an opportunity to fish, hunt, play golf, or simply be outside. He was a former member of the Thomas W. Kelly R-4 School Board.

Loving survivors include: wife, Carol; four children, Kevin R. (Rebecca) Largent of St. Louis; Tess L. Largent of San Diego, Calif.; Celeste (Tim) Gamboa of Lee’s Summit; Ellis J. (Sarah Clariza) Largent of San Diego. He deeply loved his five grandchildren – Sophia M. and Gareth R. Largent of St. Louis; Eli L. and Lincoln J. Hauser of San Diego; and Isabella H. Gamboa of Lee’s Summit.

He was preceded in death by his parents, Agatha and Louie; sister, Mary Lou Johnson; and brother, Charles B. Largent.

Visitation will be Friday, June 7, from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. at Ponder Funeral Home in Sikeston. The saying of the Rosary will immediately follow.

A brief visitation will take place at 9 a.m. Saturday, June 8 at St. Denis Catholic Church in Benton. The Rev. David J. Dohogne will officiate a funeral Mass at 10 a.m. with burial immediately following in the St. Denis Cemetery.

Pallbearers include: Doug Johnson, Tim Gamboa, Eddie Slaten, Chuck Largent, Frank Babcock, Tim Wade, Steve Vallette, and Donnie Vallette.

Honorary pallbearers include: Marty Potashnick, Jack Loop, Travis Garrett, Glen Mathews, Jerry Aufdenberg, Allen Blanton, Rob Cullins, Mathew Slaten, and René DeKriek.

Online condolences may be sent to the family by visiting: www.ponderfuneralhome.com.


Memorials may take the form of contributions to Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Alzheimer’s Association, or the charity of your choice.