Races set for April 7 city elections

Friday, January 24, 2020

MINER, Mo. — Let the races begin.

With the closing of filing for city office on Tuesday, voters in several communities will have choices to make on April 7 about who will represent them.

Miner has five candidates seeking election as mayor. Incumbent Bill James will be on the ballot along with Frank Tatum, Don Foster, Justin Cashmer and Peggy Holman.

James Buckley, who was appointed the town’s police chief, is seeking to fill the one-year term remaining for the position. Also Robyn Merideth is seeking the office.

In Ward 1, Miner voters will choose either Phillip Winters or Jimmy D. Thomas Jr. as their representative while in Ward 2 Billy Williams and incumbent Kay Johnson are seeking election.

Benton’s current members of the board of aldermen have filed for re-election. Running unopposed are Geri Henneman in Ward 1 and David Gelsheimer in Ward 2.

In Chaffee, there is a race in Ward 3 with Doyle W. Wilson and Darla Buckhannon seeking the office. Only the incumbents filed to fill the other openings: Ron Davis, Ward 1; Randy Dooley, Ward 2; and Ronald Eichhorn, Ward 4.

Morley Mayor Doug Sikes has filed for re-election. Voters will select two members to the Morley Board of Alderman with Sammy Slipis, Margaret O. “Peggy” Belcher, Lance Milan and Brent Powell seeking the posts.

Sikeston voters will select either incumbent Brian Self or challenger Mallory Whiffen to fill the at-large position on the city council.

None of the candidates on Bertrand’s ballot faces opposition. Running for two-year terms are Justin Lynch in Ward 1 and Michael Jensen in Ward 2. Gerald Hart has filed for a one-year unexpired term as Ward 1 alderman.

The voters in Charleston will pick either incumbent Jack Feezor or challenger Rick Toon to represent them on the city council

In East Prairie, George White is unopposed on the ballot for Ward 1 alderman and Billy Haney is unopposed in his re-election bid as alderman from Ward 2. No one filed to serve as Ward 3 alderman.

Lilbourn’s Ward 2 alderman Larry Hamilton is facing a challenge from William Henry for a two-year term on the board. Unopposed on the ballot are Mayor Robert Taylor and Ward 1 alderman Terry Hawkins as well as Brian Mays, who is seeking election as city collector.

Incumbents R.D. White and Thomas “Bud” Armstrong are on the ballot for the two at-large openings on the Matthews Board of Aldermen.

There are races for the two openings on the Morehouse Board of Aldermen. Joe Brashears and Dale Graham are running in Ward 1 and in Ward 2 incumbent Randy Dill is being challenged by Jack Hayes Sr.

A race has already developed in New Madrid’s Ward 2 with alderman Anthony Young opposed by LaDonna Williams. Running unopposed are Mayor Dickie Bodi, Ward 1 alderman Tommy Chism and Ward 3 alderman Ryan Riley.

In Portageville, there are races for the both openings on the board of aldermen. Denis McCrate and incumbent Jessie James have filed in Ward 1 and in Ward 2, Michael T. Johnston and Don Hartlein are seeking office.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: