Portageville Beta Club participates in state competition

Tuesday, January 4, 2022
Pictured are front row, from left: Beau-Hunter Warren, Sam Rhoades, Jessica Priggel, Lily Priggel, Julianna Noble, Wyatt McCulloch, Eric Wilson, Grace Long, Ryan Noble, Sam Hayes; second row: Aubrey Greenwell, Laney Stone, Aaliyah Larry, Ashlyn Swilley, Mackena Swilley, Will Jamison, Emma Redd, Jason McMahan, Luke Moyla; third row: Sara Stafford, Libbie Priggel, Ana Stafford, Bailee Whittemore, Cayleigh Manning, Mason Adams; fourth row: Mollie Roberts, Karsten McGowan, Akiyah Jordan, Emma Smith, Maddi White; fifth row: Jayla Weddington, Raigan Fisher, Kaidyn Fisher, Brianna Harless, Hailey Tipler, Amiyah Saxton; and back row: Olivia Walker.
Submitted photo

PORTAGEVILLE, Mo. — National Beta members from Portageville High School are celebrating their recent participation in the Missouri State Beta Hybrid State Convention.

They were announced as winners of the following competitions:

1st Place 10th Grade Agriscience – Beau-Hunter Warren

1st Place 10th Grade Science – Julianna Noble

1st Place Division II Speech – Jessica Priggel

1st Place Division I Mixed Media – Sam Rhoades

1st Place Division II Sculpture – Grace Long

1st Place Robotics – Sam Hayes, Will Jamison, Jason McMahan, Ryan Noble, and Emma Redd

2nd Place Division I Speech – Lily Priggel

2nd Place Division I Painting – Beau-Hunter Warren

3rd Place 11th Grade Agriscience – Ryan Noble

3rd Place Division II Woodworking – Sam Hayes

3rd Place Engineering – Will Jamison, Luke Moylan, Ashlyn Swilley, Mackena Swilley, and Beau-Hunter Warren

3rd Place Technology – Aubrey Greenwell, Aaliyah Larry, Julianna Noble, Lily Priggel, and Laney Stone

4th Place 10th Grade Math – Eric Wilson

4th Place Division I Creative Writing – Aubrey Greenwell

4th Place Group Performing Arts – Akiyah Jordan, Emma Smith, Maddi White, Kaidyn Fisher, Raigan Fisher, Brianna Harless, Cayleigh Manning, Karsten McGowan, Jessica Priggel, Libbie Priggel, Roniah Ray, Mollie Roberts, Amiyah Saxton, Sara Stafford, Hailey Tipler, Olivia Walker, Mason Adams, Abbie Brown, Addison Cayton, Julianna Noble, Lily Priggel, Addison Richie, Ana Stafford, Laney Stone, Ashlyn Swilley, Beau-Hunter Warren, Jayla Weddington, Bailee Whittemore

5th Place Creative Writing Division II – Wyatt McCulloch

National Beta State Convention allows students the opportunity to compete in various academic and STEM-based, virtual and performing arts competitions. This year, State Convention was offered as a hybrid event. This gave students the opportunity to compete either virtually or onsite at Springfield, Missouri, depending on their level of comfort. These victories at the state level provide an opportunity to compete at the national level. National Convention will be held at the Gaylord Opryland Resort in Nashville, Tennessee, during summer 2022.

“Portageville High School Beta Club was founded on Dec. 12, 2006,” said Christina Brands, Beta Club adviser and science teacher at Portageville High School. “This will be our eighth opportunity to compete at the National Convention. We will have our largest group of qualifiers competing at the National Convention in Nashville in July.”

With more than 500,000 active members and 8,750 clubs nationally and internationally, National Beta has become the nation’s largest independent, non-profit, educational youth organization. National Beta promotes the ideals of academic achievement, character, service and leadership among elementary and secondary school students. National Junior Beta includes grades 4-8 and National Senior Beta includes grades 9-12. Visit betaclub.org for more information.