Five individuals, three teams to be inducted into Sikeston honor wall and hall of fame

Saturday, September 16, 2017

SIKESTON -- Five individuals and three teams will be inducted into the Sikeston Public Schools Hall of Fame and Honor Sept. 22 during the Sikeston Bulldogs football game against the Farmington Knights.

The 2017 Honor Wall recipients for their outstanding achievement and meritorious service to the Sikeston Public School system are Lynne DeWitt and Bill Lawson.

Hall of Fame honorees are Betsy Borgsmiller, Terry Jamison, Hunter Williams, the 2012-2013 400-meter and 800-meter relay team, the 2010-2011 varsity cheerleading team and the 2011-2012 varsity cheerleading team. Teams and individuals are eligible for the Hall of Fame if they've received All-State, and/or All-American honors for their athletic abilities.

Inductees' names and teams will be featured in the Sikeston Field House, and each inductee will also receive a certificate recognizing their years of service to Sikeston Public Schools or their outstanding contributions to the Sikeston Bulldogs.


A former fourth-grade teacher, tennis coach and Lee Hunter facility manager, DeWitt -- with the help of Sikeston DPS officer Brent Mullin -- set up the Bulldog Pantry, a place where students can "shop" for non-perishable food items, clothes, shoes, toiletries and school supplies. Housed in a storage unit outside of Lee Hunter Elementary, the Bulldog Pantry, which began during the 2015-2016 school year now serves all of the elementary schools in Sikeston all year long.

In the 1990s, Lawson, who is the former chief juvenile officer of Scott and Mississippi Counties, recognized that one sport--soccer--was missing from the list of Sikeston High School athletic programs. Lawson spearheaded the effort to establish soccer as an official sport for Bulldog athletes, helping raise $10,000 to begin funding for a soccer program. He also served as the assistant coach for the first eight years to build the program.


A 2012 graduate, Borgsmiller achieved back-to-back track and field state honors for her high-jump expertise. She finished first in the 2011 Missouri Track Championship with a jump of 5'5." Her senior year, Borgsmiller returned to the state competition, winning a fourth-place medal in the high jump. She also set two SHS high jump records -- first 5'7" and two weeks later 5'8."

A member of the 2011-2012 Sikeston Bulldog basketball team, Jamison shined in his guard position. Named to first team All-State, first team All-District, and first team All-Conference, Jamison scored a total of 350 points, an average of 12.5 points per game. Jamison helped lead the Bulldogs to district and sectional wins and 23-5 season.

Williams, also a 2012 graduate, received first team All-State, first team All-Conference, first team All-District, and first team All-Region for soccer. Team captain and leader of the 20-5 Bulldogs his senior year, Williams led the team in points (72), assists (22) and goals (25).

the relay team consisting of Steven Baker, Spenser Clark, Kyland Gross and Nick Nichols -- won back-to-back state honors at the 2012 and 2013 Missouri Track and Field Championships in the 400-meter and 800-meter relays. As juniors, the four sprinters won first in the 800-meter and second in the 400-meter. In 2013, they won first place in both the 400-meter and 800-meter relays at the state track and field championship.

The 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 cheerleading teams earned second place finishes at the state level.