26 to graduate from Patrolís Law Enforcement Academy

Friday, June 15, 2018

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. ó†Colonel Sandra K. Karsten, superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol has announced that 26 troopers will graduate from the Patrolís Law Enforcement Academy on June 29. The ceremony is scheduled to take place at 10 a.m. in the Academy gymnasium. The public is invited. The 105th Recruit Class reported to the Academy on Jan. 2 to begin the 25-week training course to become a trooper. The new troopers report for duty in their assigned troops on July 16.

Governor Michael L. Parson will be a special guest speaker at the graduation ceremony, and Colonel Sandra K. Karsten will also address the class. Brigadier General Gregory Mason, assistant adjutant general, Missouri Army National Guard, will provide the keynote address during the graduation ceremony. The Honorable Mary Rhodes Russell, Supreme Court of Missouri, will administer the Oath of Office to the new troopers. Dean Roger K. McMillian, vice president of College Affairs for Mineral Area College, will confer an associate of applied science degree to 11 of the new troopers. Troop F Color Guard will present and retire the colors. Sgt. John H. Lueckenhoff, Troop D, will sing the national anthem. Pastor Gary Dedmon, Diggins Baptist Church, Seymour, Mo., will provide the invocation and benediction.

Four class awards will be presented. The recruits accumulate points toward graduation in the categories of physical fitness, firearms, and academics throughout their 25 weeks at the Academy. The person with the highest number of points in each category earned the respective award. Award categories include physical fitness, firearms, academics, and the Superintendentís Award, which is presented to the person with the most points overall.

Graduates for Troop E are: Justin C. Johnson, Doniphan, Mo., Troop E, Zone 7, Scott/Mississippi/New Madrid Counties; Jared R. Chronister, Cabool, Mo., Troop E, Zone 8, Pemiscot/New Madrid Counties and Tyler R. Sappington, Pilot Knob, Mo., Troop E, Zone 9, Pemiscot/New Madrid Counties.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: