Voters to make decisions on presiding commissioner, judge in Scott County primary

Thursday, August 2, 2018

BENTON, Mo. — Voters will have their choice of which political party ballot they favor, but everyone will be able to vote on Proposition A, which will decide whether or not to make Missouri a right-to-work state, during the Aug. 7 Primary Election in Scott County.

County and state races within each political party will establish races for the Nov. 6 General Election.

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day. Voters must remember to bring a form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, to their respective precincts.


Regardless of which ballot they choose on Primary Election Day, voters will choose “yes” or “no” as a response to “Statutory Measure Proposition A,” which is the right-to-work issue. The ballot language is as follows: “Do the people of the state of Missouri want to adopt Senate Bill 19 (“Right-to Work”) as passed by the general assembly in 2017, which prohibits as a condition of employment the forced membership in a labor organization (union) or forced payments of dues in full or pro-rate (fair-share); make any activity which violates employees’ rights legal and ineffective; allow legal remedies for anyone injured as a result of another person violating or threatening to violate employees’ rights; and which shall not apply to union agreement entered into before the effective date of Senate Bill 19? State and local government entries expect no cost or savings.”


County races

Three people are vying to represent the GOP in November in the race for presiding commissioner: Jim Glueck, Will Yates and John Graham.

Running unopposed on the Republican ticket are Joe Bill Davis for county treasurer; and Amanda Oesch for prosecuting attorney.

Running unopposed in circuit judge races are incumbent Blake Pearson, Division 4; and Zac Horack, circuit judge Division 5.

In the race for precinct committeeman, voters will choose either Paul M. Crader or Gary Senciboy; and for precinct committeewoman, they will choose either Cindy Seyer or Kerri Senciboy.

State races

In the race for the GOP nominee of the U.S. Senate race in November, voters will choose from these 11 candidates: Tony Monetti, Austin Petersen, Josh Hawley, Fred Ryman, Christina Smith, Kristi Nichols, Bradley Krembs, Ken Patterson, Brian G. Hagg, Courtland Sykes and Peter Pfeifer.

Voters will choose one of the four candidates to represent the GOP in the state auditor race: Kevin M. Roach, David Wasinger, Paul Curtman and Saundra McDowell.

Running unopposed on the Republican ticket are: Jason Smith, U.S. Representative, District 8; Holly Rehder, state representative District 148; Done Rone, state representative District 149; and Herman Morse, state representative District 151.



Incumbent Jamie Burger is challenged by Chelsea Hale in his bid to represent the Democratic Party in the November election.

Running unopposed are the incumbents: Rita Milam, county clerk; Christy M. Hency, circuit court clerk; Tara L. Mason, recorder of deeds; Glenda K. Enderle, county treasurer; Paul R. Boyd, prosecuting attorney; and Mark Hensley, collector of revenue.

In the race for circuit judge of Circuit 33, Democratic party voters will choose either Rebecca A. Reed or incumbent David A. Dolan.

Scott T. Horman, incumbent associate circuit judge of Division 5, is unopposed in his bid to represent the Democratic Party in November.


U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill faces six opponents in the Democratic primary: Carla (Coffee) Wright, Angelica Earl, Leonard Joseph Steinman II, John Hogan, Travis Gonzalez and David Faust.

Running unopposed are Nicole Galloway for state auditor; Kathy Ellis, US Representative District 8; Bill Burlison, state representative District 149; and J.T. (Jerry) Howard, state representative District 151.



Running unopposed in their bids to represent the Libertarian Party are Japheth Campbell, U.S. senator; Sean O’Toole, state auditor; Jonathan L. Shell, U.S. representative District 8; and Rick Vandeven, state representative District 151.



In the race to represent the Green Party in November, voters will choose Jo Crain or Jerome Bauer to represent their party in the U.S. Senate race in November. Running unopposed on the ticket are Don Fitz for state auditor and Jacob Luetkemeyer.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: